Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 7:16 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sin and Original Sin
Sin and Original Sin
I am a preschool teacher. I am more than familiar with behavior modification for young children. In my classroom I use Gordon's teacher effectiveness training approach. Basically I help the children talk their problems out with each other. I do not use any incentives or punishment. They learn how to use their words to express their feelings instead of hurting each other.

Last night it finally dawned on me that this is solid proof that there is no such thing as original sin, or sin at all. I stopped believing in sin long ago, but it's finally hitting me that I am dealing with learned behavior, not sin. Children are complex people. Heck, we're all complex! And that's important to remember, that our behavior can't always be simplified to "good" and "bad".

Thoughts?
God is a personification of ourselves, what we wish to be, and that which we do not understand.
RE: Sin and Original Sin
great post. Its one thing to say something, but its a completely different thing to REALLY reallize that what you say is correct.
No god = no sin. It's impossible to have a definition of "sin" without invoking supernatural explanations.
Christian apologetics is the art of rolling a dog turd in sugar and selling it as a donut.
Quote:Heck, we're all complex!

I find theists to be simpletons, mainly. I take them at their word that they need the concept of an angry invisible sky-daddy who is always watching and ready to rub their noses in shit when they crap on the floor.