Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 12:29 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
'Why We Believe In Gods'
'Why We Believe In Gods'
'WE' being humanity in general. Why do people believe in Gods?

[youtube]1iMmvu9eMrg[/youtube]
RE: 'Why We Believe In Gods'
That was facinating.
I used to tell a lot of religious jokes. Not any more, I'm a registered sects offender.
---------------
...the least christian thing a person can do is to become a christian. ~Chuck
---------------
NO MA'AM
[Image: attemptingtogiveadamnc.gif]
As a computer scientist, I believe that people are biological supercomputers that evolved due to natural selection. The thing about computers is that they can be programmed. A lot of children are programmed at a very early age to believe in religion and behave according to its precepts. They are even programmed to resist attempts to reprogram themselves according to reason and logic.
(May 24, 2009 at 9:42 am)lrh9 Wrote: As a computer scientist, I believe that people are biological supercomputers that evolved due to natural selection. The thing about computers is that they can be programmed. A lot of children are programmed at a very early age to believe in religion and behave according to its precepts. They are even programmed to resist attempts to reprogram themselves according to reason and logic.

Shouldn't that be, "As a computer scientist and rabid mass-murderer"? ... I think that, as a scientist, precision is important don't you?

Kyu
Angry Atheism
Where those who are hacked off with the stupidity of irrational belief can vent their feelings!
Come over to the dark side, we have cookies!

Kyuuketsuki, AngryAtheism Owner & Administrator
Lectures like this should be played in school assemblies..
[Image: cinjin_banner_border.jpg]