Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 5:02 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
12 year old brothers Catechesis.
12 year old brothers Catechesis.
Ok, first off, I’m new to this whole forum thing, I’ve never posted on a forum or anything before, but I have kind of a biggie… question.
So today it’s my little brothers Catechesis, he’s 12 years old, and he’s confirming his faith tonight… My brother expects me to be his sponsor, I don’t quite think he knows that I'm an Atheist, and to be honest, I don’t really think he knows what one is, he’s grown up being taught that God is all good and everyone wants to go to Heaven when they die, so to him it’s simple. We’ve grown up in a Catholic family. All our schools have been Catholic schools since Primary School all the way through to my Sixth Form College, which is where I'm at now.
So, still assuming assuming that anyone is reading this, my role tonight is to place my hand on my brother’s shoulder while he confirms his faith to God, and pray for him.
As an Atheist, of course, I feel like I can’t do this, yet as a brother should I support my brother through this?
My parents think I should, even if I don’t believe in God, simply because my brother is expecting me to be there for him.
In my opinion my brother has no idea what he is getting himself into. But what can I do…
Opinions???
Ta.
RE: 12 year old brothers Catechesis.
This is important to your brother, and he wants you to be the person there with him.

Its not as if atheism is some sort of faith that would be violated by inclusion into a religious ceremony.

The fact its bloody stupid isn't really relevant, if its important to him that you be there, even if it is slightly hypocritical, I would support my sibling still.

Oh, and welcome to the forums...