Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 16, 2024, 1:46 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi, I'm and Atheist and new to the forums...
Rainbow 
Hi, I'm and Atheist and new to the forums...
Hi everyone,

I've been stalking the board for a couple of weeks as a guest now and thought I'd finally say HELLO and give you a little bit of my background. I'm an Atheistic Tango Dancing Scientist. Woot!

I could have been brought up in a very religious environment. My mother's family was devout Polish Catholic and EVERYONE went to Catholic school in my mom's generation. She kept going to church with the family and originally got married in a Catholic church to her first husband. They got divorced because she wanted to have kids and he lied about being sterile. When she wanted to marry my dad years later the church said NO-WAY. So they just got married by the Justice of the Peace. As a baby they tried to have me baptized (under pressure from my grandparents)... but were unable to. They had recently moved to a new city and didn't know many people. Being a godparent is serious business in the church so if you brought someone that wasn't Catholic they wouldn't baptize the child. The only friends my parents trusted with my care happened to be Protestant. No baptism for me. No church either. Ever. I think I lucked out.

I'm now married and my husband does have faith, but we don't go to church. His dad was a youth pastor and his mom is very religious. She talks about how she loves being near the beach "Because God made it" or that people with psychological disorders are "probably possessed by demons." Oftentimes it is hard to carry on a logical conversation with her.