Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 23, 2024, 9:25 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi. Glad to be here.
Hi. Glad to be here.
Hi everyone.

My brief religious story is as follows: grew up in a nominal Protestant family. Was a searching, angst-ridden, teen in the 80's, listening to Morrisey and Robert Smith, and didn't believe in the religion, such as it was, of my parents. I was a goth before we knew that name, and an atheist.

I studied French literature in high school and fancied myself an existentialist - "l'enfer c'est les autres", as well as a materialist (though I probably didn't know that term).

I met some Christians in college and became a believer. I won't go into details here, but it was a long process that resulted in the conclusion that the existence of God cannot be proven one way or the other. In the end, it was personal experience that convinced me. As such, religious belief, or faith, has always been subjective and personal in my mind. This did not stop me from trying to convince others to try it for themselves, but I've always thought that rational arguments cannot ultimately decide the matter. Belief (or non-belief) in God is super-rational - not irrational, just beyond the power of reason alone to justify.

At least that had been my idea until I started The God Delusion (by Dawkins, but I assume everyone here knows that). As I read it, I'm going through a refinement of my beliefs, and to my surprise, I find that it is not at all clear that I will remain a theist. I've been a Christian for 25 years, and have amassed what appeared to be an immovable body of personal experience that confirms not only the existence of God, but his identity as the Trinity of Christianity.