Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 1:48 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How do you make the case for same sex marriage?
Everyone knows I'm a student, right? If you didn't know before, you know now.

Well, I'm taking a speech class and part of that is that I'm going to have to make a persuasive speech. So, I'm going to make a speech for something I already believe in: same sex marriage.

Thing is, from my perspective, same sex marriage is a no brainer. When you're queer, it's kinda hard to question your own rights. However, if I'm going to make an effective, persuasive speech, I would need to address the concerns of people who aren't already queer who are specifically homophobic.

Any suggestions on what those concerns are and how to address them?
I live on facebook. Come see me there. http://www.facebook.com/tara.rizzatto

"If you cling to something as the absolute truth and you are caught in it, when the truth comes in person to knock on your door you will refuse to let it in." ~ Siddhartha Gautama
RE: How do you make the case for same sex marriage?
I don't see a case against it, so I see no reason why it needs a case made for it.
(September 10, 2012 at 3:07 pm)Chuck Wrote: I don't see a case against it, so I see no reason why it needs a case made for it.

Personally, I agree.

However, a lot of states have passed laws and even state constitutional amendments to prevent same sex marriage. If that's going to happen, there must be a case against it and that's kinda what I'm trying to learn.
I live on facebook. Come see me there. http://www.facebook.com/tara.rizzatto

"If you cling to something as the absolute truth and you are caught in it, when the truth comes in person to knock on your door you will refuse to let it in." ~ Siddhartha Gautama