Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 4:06 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gnostic gospels study group
Lightbulb 
Gnostic gospels study group
Only slightly mischievously, I've been reading the Gnostic gospels. They are early Christian texts/gospels which people familiar with the modern bible may not be so familiar with. I'm no expert but I find it very curious stuff, and think it's a topic that can be interesting to modern Christians and atheists alike. Gnostic has come up a few times and I'm at danger of labouring my points on the word usage, but this is separate from all that - just rekindled my curiosity to read me some proper bible.

As an Atheist, I'm not a natural bible study leader, but I will attempt to satisfy convention by adding "amen" every now and again between paraphrases. I'll naturally concentrate on the controversial and thought provoking bits.

The Gospel of Philip
Studied in its translated form (Wesley W. Isenberg, available here http://www.gnosis.org/naghamm/gop.html).Also general info http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gospel_of_Philip

The text was found among the Nag Hammadi Library, and is I think in Coptic, but generally accepted as a transcription from the original Greek. The Coptic copy dates from about AD 300, with the Greek original said to be from around AD 150. So much older than the translations of the bible people read today.

Those who sow in winter reap in summer. The winter is the world, the summer the other Aeon (eternal realm). Let us sow in the world that we may reap in the summer. Because of this, it is fitting for us not to pray in the winter.

***** Amen!!! Don't ye pray in the winter, Amen!!!****