Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 3:09 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
RevOxley inro thread
Brick 
RevOxley inro thread
Hello everyone,

My name is Matt aka RevOxley aka RagingRev aka the Atlanta Atheism Examiner.

I am 23 years old. I work as an IT Analyst. I am married with no children other than two dogs, two cats, a pet rat, and a turtle. I live in a small town called Eastman in the state of Georgia - smack dab in the middle of the Bible Belt.

I have been calling myself an atheist for just over a year now, just a couple years ago i was a very devout Christian and a minister as well. My journey away from Christ was a difficult and painful one that took over two years to complete, but I am now happier than I have ever been.

I enjoy conversation and debate with theists and non-theists so long as both sides are willing to listen and learn and know how to keep their temper under control, I have made quite a few friends that are Christians or clergy through discussion and debate and we generally find some sort of common respect for one another.

I consider myself an autodidact, not that formal education isn't important or good, I have never been afforded the luxury of one and don't see that changing in the future (It is rather expensive, and debt isn't the wisest thing to accumulate at this point in time)

I look forward to joining in on the discussions here with everyone!
RE: RevOxley inro thread
Nice intro, welcome to the forums and enjoy your stay.Smile
Personally, it's not God I dislike, it's his fan club I can't stand.
(August 17, 2009 at 4:39 pm)RevOxley Wrote: I am married with two dogs, two cats, a pet rat, and a turtle.

Is that allowed in the state of Georgia? They are more liberal then I thought. Big Grin

Welcome to our forum Matt.
Best regards,