Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 1:55 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello there
Hello there
I'm a Software Engineer from England, but for various reasons I now live in North Carolina, USA.

I had no idea before I got here what living in the "bible belt" would be like. We lived here for 5 years and it never really bothered me, until we had children. They're now 3 years old and at a stage in life where they soak up everything, their vulnerability to suggestion from any angle is something I have to deal with now. So I start to notice things a whole lot more, stuff I never really considered until now.

I find myself listening intently to how people speak to my kids, many people here treat their faith as fact, they talk as if god is absolute and praying is normal. It's all a bit strange to me, and I'm seriously contemplating moving to a less religious state. But at the same time I'm not sure if it really makes a difference, so if anyone has experience in this, I would be very interested.

Personally, I just want to live like it's the only life I'll ever know, learn about the universe through science and technology, and most importantly, allow my children to think for themselves, not be ashamed for being human, and live their lives to the fullest before their unfortunate but inevitable death.

I hope I can find like minded people here.
RE: Hello there
Welcome :-)
Welcome to the forums. Have a great time.

(first person to greet you on an Atheist forum is a Muslim....ironic)
I march against the Asagods
To bring the end of time.
I am pure and endless pain
And Surtr is my name.

See me rise, the mighty Surt,
Destroyer of the universe.
Bringer of flames and endless hurt
Scorcher of men and Earth.
They do think oddly in the bible belt.....

Welcome.