Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 11:00 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi fellow travelers
Hi fellow travelers
Hi. I'm a 33 year old guy from Atlanta. I've been one kind of unbeliever or another for close to 20 years now.

I wasn't particularly raised to be religious, but being in the southeast USA, evangelical Christians types were never very far away either. I went through a time in my life where I had many friends that believed this kind of thing, and very much wanted to fit in and believe what they believed.

Try as I might, I simply could not fit all the puzzle pieces together, it just did not make sense to me. I reached a point where I basically said screw it, I can make better sense of things without, and I've never really looked back.

In college, I majored in and graduated with a degree in cognitive science, which is basically a combination of neuroscience, philosophy, computer science, linguistics, and psychology. It was a great experience.

Lately I have been making an effort to educate myself on things I may have missed out on, and in so doing have discovered just how much I don't know. So I am looking to remedy that.

I've also finally reached the difficult but necessary conclusion that while discussion of opposing points of view on religion is a necessary and important thing to do, I was doing it too frequently, and it was starting to do more harm to me than good. So I am looking for a community where I can talk about things that I like talking about, without being subjected to an endless barrage of nonsense from people largely hostile to what I believe. I also believe that it is valuable to be able to respond intelligently when these types of situations inevitably do arise.