Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 5:19 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello new world!
Hello new world!
I can not claim that I'm new to atheism. When my mother died in 1983, I gave up on god, the church like the easter bunny, and santa before them. For years there has been alot of waffling about what I believed, and having faith and trying to "fit " in. It was all crap. Every time I would look at a new religion, or try to reclaim my imaginary friend from my youth, there was this knowledge, fact if you will that it was all crap. Picking apart each layer of the lies, falsehoods and down right crap was easy, all the while, knowing that if I just rely on my own sense of wrong and right, and work problems out with common sense and knowledge gained would get me through. I flirted with being an out of the closet atheist, but every time you look around, the only ones you see are wackjobs as bad as religious zealots, most likely sitting across a forum table. Who wants that. Then there's friends and family. None and I mean none of my family are religious. I think there's no problems there and most likely they will be okay with anything I do. I know I may lose some friends, but are they my friends to start with if they toss me and our friendships out like trash if they find out that I hold god and the tooth fairy in the same regard.