Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 3:08 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Greetings from northern Wisconsin
Greetings from northern Wisconsin
I'm getting a bit tired of the religion on the other forums I am a member of, so I did a google search for atheist forums and POOF! Hope to meet some like-minded folks here.

I was raised outside of religion and encouraged to ask questions and study religions for myself. It was never a big deal for me until high school when someone asked me if I believe in god. I asked in return, "Which one?" and when pushed for an answer said no. Very soon after that my locker was trashed and I was very publicly taunted for my lack of belief. In college, I studied more. I read several holy books from several different religions. I joined religious discussion groups. I found out I was an atheist. That's when I met my husband, and through going to the discussions with me and talking on our own we found out he had the same mindset (despite being submerged in fundamental baptist goo his entire life). We married, to the outrage of his family, and are now raising two little freethinkers of our own.

I could tell you stories about religious people that would curl your hair. Had a lot of bad experiences, even though I've never been very "militant" in my atheism until lately. There are A LOT of misconceptions about atheists in general. I have very few friends as a result of being honest when someone asks about my beliefs. I know I should be true to myself, but it's really difficult sometimes. Lonely. I only know one other atheist in real life, and she lives 10 hours away.

I hope to change that here. I'm sick of being so isolated in my rationality. So... thanks for having me here.