Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 4:52 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Culture and Respect
Culture and Respect
So I was fangirling on a Xena binge (sushi and chocolate chip!) when I finished season 4 episode 15. In this episode Xena and Gabrielle are in India wandering around. They stop to watch a funeral procession, and my rosy liberal glasses came on almost immediately. The wife of the dead man was going to be thrown into the pyre with her husband, this pisses of Xena and Gabby who stop the mourners. It got me thinking when in a new place as guest where is line in respecting someone's religious or cultural differences? And when do you get to this is bullshit?
RE: Culture and Respect
I'm an anthropology student and this comes up for anthropologists a lot. My professor takes students to Fiji in the summers. Fiji is famous for its former practice of cannibalism. They supposedly stopped this practice 50 years ago, but there are still some Elders left who remember the old ways. If my professor and/or her students found out they were still practicing cannibalism, would it be their moral responsibility to stop it?

It's their job to observe, study, and report their findings on this culture, and intervening would drastically change the behavior of the subjects. The scientific side of what they do actually obligates them NOT to intervene. Cultural relativism (not to be confused with the philosophical position of moral relativism) is supposed to be central to the anthropological method - that is, trying not to judge other cultures by our own culture's standards.

On the other hand, they would most likely have the personal conviction that cannibalism is not just morally wrong, but one of the most heinous things a human can do to another.