Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 3:36 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
is college worth it anymore
is college worth it anymore
well is it????
RE: is college worth it anymore
Typically, the difference between a college education and a high school one is about $500,000 over a person's lifetime, so I would have to say yes.
It depends what you want to do with your life. I went to college simply because it's what you are supposed to do after high school. I majored in history just because I didn't really know what else to do. Basically for me and for what I am doing now, College was a huge waste of time.
[Image: dcep7c.jpg]
It honestly depends upon what you decide to study. A liberal arts degree will not guarantee a successful future career, and in most cases even a Master's Degree will not guarantee a great job. If you do not care about a future career, and just want to learn, then the only obstacle to worry about would be the cost of the education. Is college a sinkhole toward debt? Yes, without a doubt.
"Never trust a fox. Looks like a dog, behaves like a cat."
~ Erin Hunter
(March 15, 2014 at 2:03 pm)futilethewinds Wrote: Typically, the difference between a college education and a high school one is about $500,000 over a person's lifetime, so I would have to say yes.

So if you value your life based entirely on your lifetime net income, then yes. If you want to actually live your life and not be forced into the work place immediately because of student loan debt, then no.
(March 15, 2014 at 2:03 pm)futilethewinds Wrote: Typically, the difference between a college education and a high school one is about $500,000 over a person's lifetime, so I would have to say yes.