Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 11:56 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recipes thread
Recipes thread
What are your favourite recipes? Mine is a Brazilian Gammon and white bean stew, which is cheap and tasty, which is great considering I'm a student;

Ingredients: ~500g diced gammon (or bacon), 2 400g tins of cannelini beans (or other white beans), 1 medium onion (diced) , 1 garlic clove, 1 bunch spring onions, ground cumin, ground coriander, cayenne pepper, turmeric, oregano, ground black pepper, salt. Optional: Chopped chilli, fresh coriander or parsley.

1) Fry the onions and gammon in a large saucepan for 5 minutes
2) Crush in the garlic and fry for an additional 5 minutes
3) Add 1 tsp of cumin and oregano, 1/2 tsp of the other spices and fry for an additional 3 minutes
4) Drain the cannelini beans and mix in. Add water to cover (pre-boil the water in a kettle) and boil for 5 mins, then leave to simmer for 15 minutes.

Options for serving:
Potatoes: Dice about 8 medium potatoes (roughly the size of the beans) and add to the stew and simmer on a low heat till the potatoes are soft
Rice: Add about half a mug full of rice per person to the stew. When all the water has been absorbed, check to see if the rice is cooked. If not, add around a mug full of boiling water, and repeat.

When the potatoes/rice have been cooked, chop the spring onions, chilli and coriander/parsley into the stew. Serves 4.
If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. - J.R.R Tolkien
RE: Recipes thread
Wish I could cook.

Can I share a link to a blog?
(August 19, 2014 at 6:55 am)czúzyt ylgájla Wrote: Wish I could cook.

Can I share a link to a blog?

Go ahead