Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 3:27 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
persecution complix amongst the religious
persecution complix amongst the religious
Discuss, rant and everything

So Sunnis keep talking about how the world wants to destroy them, they keep whining about being persecuted by Shiites, Christians, Jews, Hindus and Buddhists. I mean can't they look in the mirror. Confused Fall

And I'm new to Christianity (I'm researching different religions, the main ones to be exact), and I've noticed the persecution complex. Can you share more?Big Grin

And what other religions (and groups in general) that you know of have a persecution complex?
RE: persecution complix amongst the religious
It's not unique to religion. You see white people talk about being persecuted by the "PC brigade".

Many football managers use the psychology of "the whole world is against you" to inspire their players. Sir Alex Ferguson and Jose Mourinho are two I can think of. It's powerful stuff.

As an aside, religious groups do actually persecute each other. Whereever there is a minoriy religious group, there is potential to be persecuted. Just look at what is going on in the Middle East. It puts the complaints that American Christians have into context. Not being able to let your child wear a T-shirt condemning homosexuality isn't the same as having your entire family slaughtered.
What I don't understand is that they whine about their brother of faith, and then ignore their own persecution of others.
When a Sunni complains about Iran, I can't stop thinking about Saudi Arabia for example.