Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 8:41 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is this insulting?
Is this insulting?
Not too far from my home is a public monument alongside a highway. The intent of this monument is to acknowledge the service of people who served in our armed forces. I'm a veteran myself, so I can appreciate the effort of the people who erected this thing.

HOWEVER....

The verbage on the monument reads, "DEDICATED TO THOSE WHO SERVED BOTH GOD AND COUNTRY".

Since I do not serve any god, this monument is apparently meant to exclude me. It's kind of like they're saying, "You served your country? Okay, that's nice. But did you serve GOD as well? If not, take a hike!"

So, my question is... does anyone find this monument to be an insult to atheists? Because I do. Why is it necessary to even mention a deity on a monument intended to honor veterans anyway?
Science flies us to the moon and stars. Religion flies us into buildings.

God allowed 200,000 people to die in an earthquake. So what makes you think he cares about YOUR problems?
RE: Is this insulting?
(May 6, 2010 at 10:04 am)Thor Wrote: Not too far from my home is a public monument alongside a highway. The intent of this monument is to acknowledge the service of people who served in our armed forces. I'm a veteran myself, so I can appreciate the effort of the people who erected this thing.

HOWEVER....

The verbage on the monument reads, "DEDICATED TO THOSE WHO SERVED BOTH GOD AND COUNTRY".

Since I do not serve any god, this monument is apparently meant to exclude me. It's kind of like they're saying, "You served your country? Okay, that's nice. But did you serve GOD as well? If not, take a hike!"