Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 19, 2024, 6:43 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi, I'm an Ex-Mormon Atheist
Hi, I'm an Ex-Mormon Atheist
Hi everyone.  I'm a graduate student in physics, an atheist, and an ex-Mormon. Leaving Mormonism was quite difficult for me, and the process took quite awhile, because I was a very devout Mormon.  I'm here because I'm having a different kind of crisis of faith, a crisis about my secular worldview. It seems that, just like as it was in Mormonism, much of what I was taught about how the secular world works is actually wrong.  I'm hoping to discuss it with some fellow freethinkers.
RE: Hi, I'm an Ex-Mormon Atheist
Welcome.

Start a thread about your concerns and tell us what's on your mind.
I don't have an anger problem, I have an idiot problem.
Welcome.
Dying to live, living to die.
Welcome. Whereabouts are you from (don't have to say)? I am very intrigued by this secular crisis of yours. I agree, it needs a thread. I'd be curious to explore this.
"For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring." - Carl Sagan
Welcome to the forum.

I look forward to hearing your concerns.
[Image: extraordinarywoo-sig.jpg]
(September 19, 2016 at 10:57 pm)c172 Wrote: Welcome. Whereabouts are you from (don't have to say)? I am very intrigued by this secular crisis of yours. I agree, it needs a thread. I'd be curious to explore this.

I live in sunny California  Wink  I did post in philosophy, but for some reason my post is not showing up.  I posted a question about it in the questions and problems forum.
welcome

I confess to being interested in the devout Mormonism aspect, especially considering that no one in the upper hierarchy of LDS is.

Angel