Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 6:32 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
For Fantasy/Sci-Fiction Lovers: What Makes You Reada Book?
For Fantasy/Sci-Fiction Lovers: What Makes You Reada Book?
A lot of you know that I’m a writer. As such, I’ve been looking for ways to deal with all the competition out there. I begin to think part of it is just sheer luck. But I’ve been reading a lot of advice from the "experts" and they all seem to say I need to establish a relationship with my readers. That sounds so crazy. I’ve never read a fantasy novel because I thought the author cared about me personally.

So I’m asking you, the readers, the real experts on why you pick up any particular book. What makes you interested in a book? Especially a book by an author you’ve never heard of, or do you only read books by famous authors? Should I make a name for myself by robbing a bank?
The god who allows children to be raped out of respect for the free will choice of the rapist, but punishes gay men for engaging in mutually consensual sex couldn't possibly be responsible for an intelligently designed universe.

I may defend your right to free speech, but i won't help you pass out flyers.

Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities.
--Voltaire

Nietzsche isn't dead. How do I know he lives? He lives in my mind.
RE: For Fantasy/Sci-Fiction Lovers: What Makes You Reada Book?
Basics: Cover art, back cover information. Who says it's good? Is the plot synopsis interesting?

Total time looking at a book, about one minute before putting it back on the shelf or buying it.