Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 20, 2024, 1:52 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Howdy From Texas...The Bible Belt!
Howdy From Texas...The Bible Belt!
Greetings.

I have come to realize, much to the chagrin of my lovely wife, family, and friends, that I can finally attach the label of "atheist" to myself.

I have, for a great many years, simply considered myself a free-thinker, immune to silly ideas of magical powers, and an invisible space sheriff. I do not begrudge believers, nor do I wish to lead them astray from their adopted, or perhaps more correctly, imprinted beliefs. I respect and appreciate the historical significance of theism, and say "the pledge" every week day...including the "one nation under [G]od." part. As you may have already inferred...I am a teacher. More specifically; a science teacher. In Texas. The "Bible Belt".

Therein lies my conflict. I teach science. I live in the world of objective reasoning, surrounded by yet another world of subjective 'truth'. I get answers to questions such as, "What is the source of all the energy that sustains life on our planet?"...and I always get at least one student who answers, "GOD"...instead of the rational answer of, "the sun". I find myself hiding any semblance of my realistic beliefs to avoid being branded as "evil", and subsequently losing my job...masked in a puree of administrative audits, and technical, improvised missteps.