Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 6:28 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help !! Doubts about Big Bang
Help !! Doubts about Big Bang
I have been reading some of the material about alternative (non-religious) theories of the cosmos and it's left me with doubts regarding the truth of the Big Bang or Standard Cosmological Model. Not being a scientist myself I cannot give an in depth critique of them, but the gist of it is :-

1) Big Bang requires 3 hypothetical entities, cosmic inflation, dark matter, and dark energy, to make it match observations.

2) The whole theory has evolved as the result of an interpretation of cosmic red shift as being caused by the doppler effect, when this has not been established beyond reasonable doubt, and there are other mechanisms that could explain it like the Compton effect.

3) There are alternatives which explain observations to some degree, like Modified Newtonian Dynamics or the plasma universe model which are not getting the attention they deserve because of the scientific hierarchy which discourages non-mainstream studies. (the mainstream being Big Bang)

These are not my views but the consensus of (non-religious) Big Bang doubters as far as I have been able to assess them.