Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 11:21 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Jehovahs Witnesses nearly got me!
Jehovahs Witnesses nearly got me!
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here so this is my introduction. As the title suggests I was raised as a Jehovah's witness with the persistent brain battering of 3 religious meetings a week plus a bible study. The indoctrination process collapsed on itself once I read the bible in full and struggled to see it as fact and saw no way it could possibly be divine.

Since leaving I've wrestled with the philosophy of creationism but come to the conclusion that all organised religion is completely wrong and is a lead weight around the neck of human progress. My mum and sisters have disowned me as is normal with Jehovah's witnesses which always makes me question whether I may be wrong. Being a believer would make my life far simpler but truth trumps comfort as far as I'm concerned.

So in short I'm pretty much sold on atheism but am always open to being proven wrong and like hearing everyone's differing viewpoints.
RE: Jehovahs Witnesses nearly got me!
Quote:Since leaving I've wrestled with the philosophy of creationism but come to the conclusion that all organised religion is completely wrong and is a lead weight around the neck of human progress. My mum and sisters have disowned me as is normal with Jehovah's witnesses which always makes me question whether I may be wrong. Being a believer would make my life far simpler but truth trumps comfort as far as I'm concerned.
Why resort to guilt when God can just bring you back?

Welcome!
(March 30, 2013 at 9:51 pm)ThatMuslimGuy2 Wrote: Never read anything immoral in the Qur'an.
Welcome!

*passes the plate of barbecued babies.