Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 1:50 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi! I 'm a newbie. I live in MS. Its a beautiful and frustrating place to live. I married a wonderful man, little over a year ago. We had 2 dogs and 3 cats. I'm studying Philosophy and Religion at college. I love it. I am building up some courage to tell my super christian family that I am atheist. Currently I am reading the Qur'an and adding in notes from the skeptic's annotated Qur'an and different websites. It's fun. If you know any good reading for that let me know. Thank you.
RE: Newbie
Welcome Enjoy the forum
Welcome.

If you identify as both atheist and spiritual, can you clarify what the spiritual part means please?
[Image: Untitled2_zpswaosccbr.png]
Haha your going to say I'm agnostic, but Spiritual Atheist sounds much prettier. I am a spiritual person. I love mythology. I love the nature of religion. I love going for long walks in the middle of nowhere and seeing the beauty that is science, but I don't believe in any god. (Why more people believe in one god that many gods has never made since to me, but I think that is for a different forum.) Anyway to me there is an undeniable emotional feeling to life that I can best describe as spiritual. But like I said I don't believe in god, any god. So, hence Spiritual Atheist.
I don't know that I'd call it "agnostic," but I get the feeling - the same sort of thing Walt Whitman wrote about in his poetry, which, while distinctly spiritually bent, oddly enough lent me the support I needed to help admit and revel in atheism.
[Image: Untitled2_zpswaosccbr.png]
Welcome to the AF.