Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 6:22 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recommended Readings for a Beginning Atheist
Recommended Readings for a Beginning Atheist
I was wondering, and I thought maybe others may be as well, if any of you could recommend some decent books on atheism/atheistic thought? I'm rather new to all of this, and I like to explore what others have to say on the subject. I'm familiar with some atheistic philosophers, and people like Richard Dawkins; but I'm looking for some others as well and thought you all may have some favourites you'd like to pass along/share.

I need to get my summer reading list together. I don't have money to take classes this summer semester (and after finally having to get into the meat and potatoes of my pre-med this semester I"m not sure if I'd want to anyway lol) so I need to fill my time with some sort of learning.
[Image: 1509277_363796590425193_1433975890_n.jpg]
RE: Recommended Readings for a Beginning Atheist
I just recently read three atheist books, never got around to the fourth on the list.

Sam Harris, Letter to a Christian Nation.
Sam Harris, The End of Faith.
Christopher Hitchens, God is not Great.
(The one I did not read) Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion.
"Never trust a fox. Looks like a dog, behaves like a cat."
~ Erin Hunter
You could do a lot worse than God Is Not Great; Hitchens' clarity and powerful prose style will keep you glued to the page.

(Edit: bugger - ninja'ed!)
At the age of five, Skagra decided emphatically that God did not exist.  This revelation tends to make most people in the universe who have it react in one of two ways - with relief or with despair.  Only Skagra responded to it by thinking, 'Wait a second.  That means there's a situation vacant.'