Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 29, 2024, 2:22 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Nutshell Life
Nutshell Life
I became an instant atheist at the age of twelve - in Social Studies class.  That was back in the (Where is my calculator?) . . . back in the fifties.  I have questioned that epiphany a few times - even called myself agnostic once - but have always returned to the original conclusion.  Shortly after that I became a son of Heinlein, along with my other science fiction fathers.  As a high school freshman I was a genuine slide rule-on-hip-nerd.  At fifteen I left home.  In those days you could pull the "Help Wanted" sign from the window and walk out with a day's pay.  I usually put the sign back at the end of week and moved on.  A hundred dollars saw you through to the end of the week, to the next town and to the next sign.  There really was a golden hue to the world in those days.  I promise not to regale you with too many war stories - there aren't that many anyway.  There are atheists in foxholes by the way.  I am now a non-retired engineer, but I've also been a novelist and a playwright.

I love science, both hard and soft - but not pseudo - and history and philosophy (but the philosopher's feet have to stay on the ground).

I'm here because the blank page has become an insurmountable barrier and I still have things I need to say.  The hope is that what I regurgitate here will splash onto that infamous blank page.
RE: Nutshell Life
Allow me to be the first to welcome you sir and put my lips to yours.
You may refer to me as "Oh High One."
Welcome
[Image: extraordinarywoo-sig.jpg]
Hey there Mr Arrow, it sounds to me like you've come to the right place!

Welcome to the forum. I look forward to hearing your thoughts Smile
Feel free to send me a private message.