Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 19, 2024, 3:42 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello hello!
Hello hello!
Hi! I'm glad to have found this forum! I'm 22 and am from North Carolina, USA. I'm in school right now getting my master's in social work. I grew up Christian and went to a Presbyterian church every week. I never questioned it, but I also never "felt" Jesus in my life. I think I mostly just felt bored. I became agnostic when I went to college. In my first weeks as a freshman I went to church on my own free will and realized how ridiculous I felt standing there singing to god. Agnosticism lasted, oh, one year or so, but switching to atheism was a pretty obvious decision. I love it and feel so confident in it, yet can't bring myself to admit it to anyone in my real life. People WILL judge me, sentence me to hell, or preach non-stop to me, so I don't bring it up. So anyway, glad this forum exists so I have a place to feel normal! Big Grin
RE: Hello hello!
(August 16, 2010 at 9:28 pm)DgyJff Wrote: People WILL judge me, sentence me to hell, or preach non-stop to me, so I don't bring it up. So anyway, glad this forum exists so I have a place to feel normal! Big Grin

Well, for one, welcome to atheistforums.org.
Honestly, I think you'll feel even better if you did tell them at some point, so they can make their judgements, accusations, and wholly irrational arguements and by the time the dust settles, you can only realize that it only reaffirms your position.

But that's just me.