Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 5:57 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Must see graphical video of the seismic data compiled for the Japan Earthquake
Must see graphical video of the seismic data compiled for the Japan Earthquake
This has to be viewed in its entirety to be appreciated. And believe me, as a geologist, I've seen all kinds of seismic data, but the data from the March 11, 2011 Japan great earthquake, as presented graphically here demonstrates with jaw dropping clarity how truly massive this rupture was!

Timeline Vizualization Map of the Japan Earthquakes in 2011:

'The difference between a Miracle and a Fact is exactly the difference between a mermaid and seal. It could not be expressed better.'
-- Samuel "Mark Twain" Clemens

"I think that in the discussion of natural problems we ought to begin not with the scriptures, but with experiments, demonstrations, and observations".

- Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

"In short, Meyer has shown that his first disastrous book was not a fluke: he is capable of going into any field in which he has no training or research experience and botching it just as badly as he did molecular biology. As I've written before, if you are a complete amateur and don't understand a subject, don't demonstrate the Dunning-Kruger effect by writing a book about it and proving your ignorance to everyone else! "

- Dr. Donald Prothero
RE: Must see graphical video of the seismic data compiled for the Japan Earthquake
So what this indicates is that the fault line off Hokkaido has increased activity 200 fold?? What is the name of the fault? The activity seems to be between 0-50km deep... that is rather shallow isn't it??

And no I have next to no knowledge of geology or plate tectonics beyond high school.