Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 6:31 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
help?
help?
So I'm a writer, although not a very experienced one. I write about human rights and activism for human rights within any nation experiencing problems with it. I was recently approached to do a piece on Brazil and the disgusting state of things within the law enforcement system, economics, and politics of the nation. Here's my problem:

As a writer, you hear stories about great writers who go to dangerous nations and put their lives at risk for the good of humanity. It's inspirational, in a way. In another way, it's purely terrifying. I mean, when you think about it--we really are putting our lives at risk. Being an American in the area of Brazil I'd be writing about is incredibly dangerous, and it would seem my "Dream" has come true. This is why it's scary, however. I've already made up my mind, and will be going to Brazil to do this piece...I guess I'm just looking to vent and get input from other writers who might have been in a similar situation?

Thanks for your time

RE: help?
Not a writer here Chris but good luck mate. Tricky situation. Undecided
"The Universe is run by the complex interweaving of three elements: energy, matter, and enlightened self-interest." G'Kar-B5
I only write on technology and occasionally movies. The only threat I could possibly face would be a DDoS attack from Anonymous if I pissed them off enough. Unlikely to happen though.
(May 16, 2012 at 7:51 am)Tiberius Wrote: I only write on technology and occasionally movies. The only threat I could possibly face would be a DDoS attack from Anonymous if I pissed them off enough. Unlikely to happen though.