Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 2:39 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dialetheism
Information 
Dialetheism
I started studying from a book that teaches deductive logic with all the weird symbols. It has a chapter that introduces a concept called dialetheism which from what I understand basically says in some cases sentences can be both true and false, or neither, at the same time. I don't really understand it but it's fascinating and I'm going to study it more in the future.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dialetheism
My ignore list

"The lord doesn't work in mysterious ways, but in ways that are indistinguishable from his nonexistence."
-- George Yorgo Veenhuyzen quoted by John W. Loftus in The End of Christianity (p. 103).
RE: Dialetheism
Fascinating. Thanks for the link. I'm not formally trained in pragmatics or semantics (it's really not my area), but this definitely has ties with those aspects of linguistics.
[Image: hoviksig-1.png]
Ex Machina Libertas
You ever get the feeling that some things exist just because some english major wanted a Phd?
(July 26, 2012 at 11:31 pm)teaearlgreyhot Wrote: in some cases sentences can be both true and false, or neither, at the same time.

schrodinger's logic ?
Interesting. Does that make dialetheisms the philosophical and semantic equivalent of zero?
"Listen, strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government! Supreme executive power derives from a mandate by the masses, not some farcical aquatic ceremony!"
- Dennis the peasant.
(July 30, 2012 at 10:59 pm)toro Wrote: Interesting. Does that make dialetheisms the philosophical and semantic equivalent of zero?