Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 3:49 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
first timer
first timer
I was riding with a co-worker today talking about this past Easter. We stumbled into our personal beliefs. I am a news photographer and she is a reporter and we're driving to a story. Discussions of this nature are not unusual and always remain in the van. She is a soft core christian and I am an anti religious non god fearing agnostic. She was explaining how faith brought her peace in dealing with the job she has reporting on all the awful things we report on a daily basis. That view is quite common in our industry but today it struck me funny, faith in what? When I asked faith in what, she responded that she had faith in god, the bible, jesus, and that if we are good there will be heaven blah blah blah. All very nice white bread christianity.

But faith in what stuck in my head today. I can't understand how a seeming intelligent person could have FAITH in writings that are 6000 years old and translated untold times by who knows who and for what purposes.

Lately the bible has been on my mind. Why do so many hold onto these ancient beliefs? These are the last vestiges of our primitive past. I believe that man created god to answer the unanswerable. Back in ancient times almost everything was unanswerable so god was pretty busy. As we gain knowledge and answer the question of life why can't they evolve their beliefs? Why hold onto stories written by ancient jews that make absolutely no sense what so ever?