Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 8:07 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Inclusive OR? Wtf?
Inclusive OR? Wtf?
I'm studying propositional logic and I learned that "or" means "at least one is true". So you could have "a or b" and even if both a and b were each true then "a or b" is still true. In everyday language however "or" means only one of two things can be true, not both hence the reason we have the phrase "and/or" to mean "at least one is true".

Why not just keep the traditional exclusive meaning of "or" in propositional logic and then have another symbol for "and/or"? Seems simpler to me.
My ignore list

"The lord doesn't work in mysterious ways, but in ways that are indistinguishable from his nonexistence."
-- George Yorgo Veenhuyzen quoted by John W. Loftus in The End of Christianity (p. 103).
RE: Inclusive OR? Wtf?
(May 29, 2014 at 1:06 pm)Tea Earl Grey Hot Wrote: I'm studying propositional logic and I learned that "or" means "at least one is true". So you could have "a or b" and even if both a and b were each true then "a or b" is still true. In everyday language however "or" means only one of two things can be true, not both hence the reason we have the phrase "and/or" to mean "at least one is true".

Why not just keep the traditional exclusive meaning of "or" in propositional logic and then have another symbol for "and/or"? Seems simpler to me.
In computers, there are usually 3 logic operators: OR, NOT, AND. There's also the bitwise operator, XOR, which is what you are talking about.

I think the way they have it makes sense. A girl will go out with a man if he has a sexy body or a lot of money. Saying she will also go out with him if he has a sexy body AND a lot of money seems a little too redundant. Smile