Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 10:05 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
new to forum
new to forum
Hi, I am pretty new to all this so please be patient. I do not follow any religion but I do find that I believe in a creator. Maybe because so many things in nature seem so very impossible. I don't know....
Anyway the question I have is this. Afterlife. Do atheist believe in an afterlife? thanks
RE: new to forum
I think most feel it's going to be EXACTLY like pre-life.

So, you already know, if you just stop and think about it for a sec.
(January 6, 2015 at 1:11 am)emmasheba Wrote: Anyway the question I have is this. Afterlife. Do atheist believe in an afterlife? thanks
Nope. And boy am I glad.
I can't think of anything I'd want to do for more than fifteen million years.
Forever is way too long.
So how, exactly, does God know that She's NOT a brain in a vat? Huh
Well definitionaly, there is no atheist view about the afterlife. Not believing in a god does not preclude believing in an afterlife. But, practically speaking, I don't think you'll find many atheists who believe in an afterlife, or ghosts, esp, or unicorns, for that matter.
If there is a god, I want to believe that there is a god.  If there is not a god, I want to believe that there is no god.
What Jenny said.

I personally do not believe in a afterlife.
(January 6, 2015 at 1:11 am)emmasheba Wrote: Hi, I am pretty new to all this so please be patient. I do not follow any religion but I do find that I believe in a creator. Maybe because so many things in nature seem so very impossible. I don't know....
Anyway the question I have is this. Afterlife. Do atheist believe in an afterlife? thanks

Welcome emmasheba!