Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 19, 2024, 6:14 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
12 years a slave
12 years a slave
Hello people of the Atheist Forum,

I am a 16-year-old sophomore who just so happens to be an atheist. I am 100% Japanese in terms of my ethnicity, but since I lived in the US (GA to be exact) for 4 years, I can speak and write English.

I came here to look for answers that couldn't be answered through YouTube videos, articles, or my own contemplation. As a teenager, I have many economical and intellectual restrictions that hinder me from getting books or thinking through issues thoroughly. I fully admit that I need a helping hand when thinking logically, and that is why I decided to join today.

I go to a Christian international school here in Japan which I joined when I was still a Christian 4 years ago. I love it there because of my friends. However, the education here is extremely biased (which I don't blame them for. It's a private school.) Topics like evolution have a disclaimer in the beginning where a teacher takes an entire class period to explain that it is "not something we believe in, and something you shouldn't either." We have a mandatory Bible class where extremely poor arguments for Christianity like, "God is necessary in our life. We can live without something that is necessary to life. We are alive. Therefore God exists", or the Junkyard Tornado/Kalam Cosmological argument is taught. Most of these arguments are easy to refute, and many people in my school are angry at me for doing that. However, like I said in the beginning, I need some help with other arguments and I decided that this was the perfect place to get that help.

Hopefully, I will enjoy it here!

EDIT: Thought I would put some of my interests here. 
My interests are: