Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 20, 2024, 6:58 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Foreign Languages
Foreign Languages
I'm curious: how many of you speak a foreign language? While my native language is English, I can speak, read, and write Spanish fluently and I am currently studying Portuguese as part of a dual-enrollment course at my local university. I absolutely love Latin American culture, and I hope to study abroad at least one semester during my time in university. Big Grin
"If your god has to make peace with me in my final hour when he has my whole lifetime to prove his existence to me...do you think I should bother?"

"But the happiness of an atheist is neither the vacuous enjoyment of a fool, nor the short-lived pleasure of a rogue. It is rather the expression of a disposition that has ceased to torture itself with foolish fancies, or perplex itself with useless beliefs." - Chapman Cohen
RE: Foreign Languages
I speak a bit of French, I want to learn to speak at least two foreign languages fluently by the time I am 30.
"God is dead" - Friedrich Nietzsche

"Faith is what you have in things that DON'T exist. - Homer J. Simpson
I am half Portuguese, but I can only say "grandpa" and "bald-headed turtle"
I took Spanish in high school, but things didn't work out so well with the classes. I took dumb-people Spanish one(I didn't get into language in middle school, because I got less then a c, because I can't spell.) then they didn't offer dumb-people Spanish 2 so I took average-people Spanish 1 and wasted a semester. and the next year I wasn't going to get the same awesome teacher so I didn't go for it.
(and they brought back dumb-people Spanish.)