Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 4:36 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Evenin' all
Evenin' all
Newbie here. No, I'm not an atheist, I'm an orthodox Jew. However, I'm also (which is what brought me to this site) a scientist. I don't have anything particularly against atheists, except maybe the more 'militant types', but I do often find it strange that a growing number of atheists claim to place their "faith" in rationality and science, and then display an ignorance of scientific facts and method, or knowledge of common myths. I'm sure many atheists here familiar with the life sciences also cringe when they hear someone vehemently arguing that humans evolved from apes, rather than from a common ancestor!
So mainly, I'm just here to help out, given my passion for the sciences.

Nice to be aboard.
RE: Evenin' all
(January 13, 2018 at 1:54 pm)Jollocks Wrote: Newbie here. No, I'm not an atheist, I'm an orthodox Jew. However, I'm also (which is what brought me to this site) a scientist. I don't have anything particularly against atheists, except maybe the more 'militant types', but I do often find it strange that a growing number of atheists claim to place their "faith" in rationality and science, and then display an ignorance of scientific facts and method, or knowledge of common myths. I'm sure many atheists here familiar with the life sciences also cringe when they hear someone vehemently arguing that humans evolved from apes, rather than from a common ancestor!

Nice to be aboard.

I grab you by the Jollocks and shake them in welcome.

You can fix ignorance, you can't fix stupid.

Tinkety Tonk and down with the Nazis.

That sounds a lot friendlier than I expetcted!
Thanks Wink