Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 10:33 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anyone here know London or Berlin?
Anyone here know London or Berlin?
I'm studying abroad in Europe right now, and I have a couple of long weekends coming up, so I booked cheap flights to Berlin and London. Never been to either city before Smile

Has anyone here been to either of these cities and want to share any suggestions of cool places to go or things to see and eat? I have about 5-6 days in each city. I'm going to Berlin because I'm very interested in its history, and London because it's so famous, because I've never been to the UK before, and because my flight was only $50 Tongue
RE: Anyone here know London or Berlin?
I used to live in London. Everything is worth seeing. If you are there for 5-6 days buy a week travelcard (you can get them at most underground stations). It gives you unlimited travel on the underground, London overground, buses, etc. Its pretty cheap considering, and well worth the money.

If you have a phone, download citymapper, it will tell you how to get anywhere, which underground stations to use, etc.
I've been to London several times. The last few times were to the BBC for the recordings of shows like QI, Two Pints Of Lager and Would I Lie To You. The QI trip, I remember, we saw Dustin Hoffman in his raincoat, looking just like Columbo, between scenes of Last Chance Harvey.

The only other times I've been there were political; delivering a petition to Parliament, and being in both Poll Tax marches - yes, I was almost caught up in the famous riot, but our lot were smart enough to turn into tourists immediately prior. I remember everything being really expensive, but then again Thatcher's 80s.