Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 27, 2024, 11:52 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Superstitions
Superstitions
Considering we're all(mostly) Atheists here, is anyone willing to admit that they have any superstitions and/or personal rituals that you adhere too? Anyone have a lucky number, or an unlucky number?
I've got so many it's hard to remember them all, but I'll start with this one.
My lucky number is 9, has been since I was a kid playing little league baseball.
RE: Superstitions
I've been a bookkeeper for many years. I still depend on a physical calendar and that serves me well though some think I need to move to a digital method. But my superstition is that I never, ever cross off a day till it's done. Even if it's a weekend or I will be on vacation or it's a holiday. The day isn't over till it's over.

Not sure where I got that from but I have done it for more years than I can remember.

On the rare occasion that I accidentally line through a day...yes, I will erase it.

The only thing that I can think of it that when I took my Golden Retriever to my dad for shots years ago he asked the dog's age. I said he will be three in...couple months, whatever it was. Dad responded with. "He's two until he's three". That may have filtered in deep within my brain.

“If you are the smartest person in the room, then you are in the wrong room.” — Confucius

I have a particular flat cap I wear when I play poker. If I wear it, I play better. It doesn’t matter that the hat has no magic powers.

Boru
‘But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods or no gods. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.’ - Thomas Jefferson
I don't date guys with the number 5 in their name.
[Image: extraordinarywoo-sig.jpg]