Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 24, 2024, 1:48 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Noob
Noob
Hello everyone, my name is Scott and i am a high school english teacher in sunny south florida. I grew up in a christian household for most of my life and as i learned more and more i eventually had a change of faith. My family now sees me as a god hating liberal and i find it difficult to express my views around anyone as i am frequently looked at with slanted eyes and questioned with loaded language such as "why don't you believe in anything?" I suppose I'm simply trying to reach out to a community that shares my interests and societal issues. Nice to meet you all
RE: Noob
Welcome, Scott.

You won't have any difficulties in expression your views over here, at least.
But I hope that your family becomes more tolerant of you.
A lot of families do indeed suck. You are not alone in this by any stretch of the imagination.

Welcome sir.
[Image: Evolution.png]

Thank you for your support but rayaan i don't see them changing anytime soon. It wouldn't be so bad but i watch my little sister adhere to their policies and i can see them twisting her to view me differently. So yes, cinjin, families suck Smile
Lots of xtian families suck..... it comes from being born and raised as bigoted shits.

Hello, Scott. Relax and let loose. We have a couple of fundie assholes around here from time to time. Feel free to let them have both barrels.
Welcome to the atheist forums Scott.
undefined
Hey there! Welcome to AF! ^_^