Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 11:17 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello from the UK
Hello from the UK
Hiya,

I'm Nicky, an American expat living in the UK. I became an Atheist about five years ago after much soul searching and a Christian upbringing. Two days ago I deleted my Facebook because so much of my extended family (cousins, etc) gave me shit for the Atheistic, science-y stuff would post. After becoming bummed out about my lack of acceptance, I went searching Google for a forum of my own, I hope I found the right place! I am a student currently studying Biology and hoping to take my degree into bioengineering post-grad. I cannot wait to converse with more like minded individuals!!
RE: Hello from the UK
Hi Nicky, and welcome to the forums.
"Well, evolution is a theory. It is also a fact. And facts and theories are different things, not rungs in a hierarchy of increasing certainty. Facts are the world's data. Theories are structures of ideas that explain and interpret facts. Facts don't go away when scientists debate rival theories to explain them. Einstein's theory of gravitation replaced Newton's in this century, but apples didn't suspend themselves in midair, pending the outcome. And humans evolved from ape- like ancestors whether they did so by Darwin's proposed mechanism or by some other yet to be discovered."

-Stephen Jay Gould
Hello and welcome to AF! ^_^