Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 1:12 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Debating a Christian
Debating a Christian
Debating a Christian

DISCLAIMER - You are about to read over 12 thousand words, do not blame me for the girlfriend you will lose.

Hi, I'm new to this and so I'm not sure if there is already a thread for this, but whatever. I just want to share this experience with like minded individuals. For privacy reasons, none of our details will be included.

Basically, i had an argument with this random guy over email that i met in the comment section of a YouTube video.

Please excuse any spelling or grammar errors i may have made, i was hyper with adrenaline when typing as I'm passionate about the topic. Warning also, i may have been a bit too direct or patronising towards this guy, but as you will see, it was justified. Spoiler - The guy is insane. This story is also very long, sorry about that.

Backstory: Ive always admired the works of Hitchens and Harris, and most recently NonStampCollector. Ive always sort of questioned the minds of religious people, because i have a great passion for sociology and philosophy. But it has always stopped there. Until now. I have recently discovered the Christians you only hear about in atheist folklore. They fear the word “science” and are ignorant of its beautiful works - specifically the works that debunk the Bible (which is most of science). They use the “evolution is just a theory” argument without realising that gravity and atoms are also scientific theories. They only reject what challenges their beliefs. This is the definition of ignorance. A word I now find myself saying far too often.

So here we go:

After exchanging emails on YouTube, he sent me this: