Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 9:02 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ask a German anything.
Ask a German anything.
As a semiprofessional German, besides the inner drive to enslave the world I am also a professional attention whore.

Therefor I shall now post some random bullshit in a desperate attempt to fill the void which is my personality.

5-15 bananas
5-15 bananas
5-15 bananas
5-15 bananas
5-15 bananas
5-15 bananas
RE: Ask a German anything.
What language do you speak?

(lol)
[Image: SigBarSping_zpscd7e35e1.png]
Here's the thing I find very odd about postwar German culture.
It makes sense that after World War II, Germans would be, to say the least, very touchy about the subject of the Third Reich.
It makes sense that a good portion of Germany's art after the war would involve it in some way.

What doesn't make sense to me is that simultaneously, the Nazis are the elephant in the room, and yet, if the literature and films that reach American shores is any indication, it seems like it's the only thing they seem to want to talk about; I mean, it seems like 85% of German cinema these days is about the Nazis, and an additional 10% is about how fucked up East Germany was.

There's got to be some sort of explanation for this, but since you're a German, and a clearly intelligent one, you may have the answer. Of course, this may be just as extreme a national paradox as to why Americans are so squeamish about sex but not violence that nobody can answer it.
Comparing the Universal Oneness of All Life to Yo Mama since 2010.

[Image: harmlesskitchen.png]

I was born with the gift of laughter and a sense the world is mad.
How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop?