Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 16, 2024, 1:09 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I have seen the light!
I have seen the light!
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting and I am so excited to be doing so. I have a question that I will get to after my brief intro.

I was raised in a non religious household...in fact, so non religious that my dad and I have always joked and gag-gifted Lordy type things. In 2002 I had a life changing event that left me not knowing how to carry on. A friend of mine was "Christian" (a terrible representation of one anyways, lol) and suggested that I read the bible for answers. I think I got a few pages in when I realized that it was so not for me. None of it made sense and it really just seemed like a story book using grown up words. Absolutely nothing resonated with me. I decided to shelve my need for answers and figured that something would click eventually.

A couple of years later I met the man who I would marry. He was (and still is, 10 years later) everything I have ever wanted. Funny thing is, he's Muslim. I spent the next 6 or 7 years trying to get him to tell me something, anything really, that would make me want to convert. I practically begged him to quench my thirst for answers but again, nothing he told me meant anything. At some point I realized that there would never be anything he would be able to tell me that would be enough.