Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 7:29 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Astrophysicists/Atheists
New Astrophysicists/Atheists
Hi All, Wink Shades

I am new to the Atheists/rational thinking perspective and new to this forum. I am so excited to be here, I am a recent de-convert from the Christian Religion to Atheism through my study of Astronomy. My de-convert story is rather long winded but I will share the short version.

While studying to be an Astrophysicists I ran across many aspects in science that I was learning about and discovering that the Bible could not support. While I never believed in the literal 24 hour 6 days creation story as set forth in Geniuses, I did believe in God as the creator. I am began to learn more about not only the larger things in the universe but the smaller such and the Quantum Realm and particle physics. As I studied these subjects I began to see the Bible was void on the aspects of scientific support and thus the supposed author (God) as one who could have formed and created all. As the creator of the Universe, I thought the Bible would have said more about the subject. For me this was a huge problems set forth by not only the Bible, but Christianity itself.