Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 28, 2024, 11:04 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What's a guy to do?
What's a guy to do?
Hi all,

I'm a teacher in central Nebraska and one of the classes I teach is Sociology. I try my best to be as unbiased as a good teacher can, but I'm afraid some of my colors have shown when discussing topics like religion and a few of my students may have an inkling as to where I stand with my beliefs. This doesn't really bother me, even though this area of the country is about as anti-secular as it gets. What does bother me, however, is the fact that some of my students have started to mention that they have beliefs similar to mine and are even asking for help/advice. Now don't get me wrong, I'm all for advocating the secular movement to the average adult joe/jane, but I hesitate to share such thoughts with my students. As far as I know, I'm the only educator in the district that thinks this way, so the kids don't have anyone else to talk to and I don't have anyone who can give me any advice other than "repent, idiot". Any thoughts, advice, etc are very much appreciated.

Thanks
RE: What's a guy to do?
Do you have tenure?
As a teacher you might just have to say you can't discuss things like that at school, but the Internet can teach them all they want to know.
(September 17, 2014 at 11:49 pm)thatyoungteacherguy Wrote: Hi all,