Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 29, 2024, 9:17 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
hello
hello
Hello all.

I go by goodwithoutgod in forums. I am an active duty military officer with 29 years of service thus far. I have a degree in religious studies with specialization in christianity from saint leo university, and I am finishing my masters in criminal justice with specialization in critical incident management. I am happily married with 4 kids. A little bit about me below..

I came about my atheism from a different angle then usual. I went from christian, to spiritualist, to agnostic to atheist, the more I learned the less I believed. I have spent my life learning, I have much to learn yet, as we all do. I freely admit my biggest challenge these days is to neutrally review new information without bias, it is a struggle. Especially after over 30 years of research. In my humble opinion, the problem isnt even religion per se, the true problem is faith...because when you ask people why they believe, the answers are surprising...I try to use that as the stepping stone to assist them in slowly learning more about themselves, why they believe, what belief is, opening up the myth for them so that they can do an internal analysis, and hopefully gain the courage to learn more, and believe less. Again, I dont know the answers, I just know that faith, especially for me, is a failed epistemology.