Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 8:10 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What the dead man taught me
What the dead man taught me
Hi, I'm Mike. I guess you could say that I began heavily doubting my religious beliefs when I got to college and began to learn more about the world around me and it's history. It wasn't just science and evolution, but anthropology that really got me thinking and questioning the christian upbringing I had. That and getting way into George Carlin comedy helped too.

That all started about seven years ago though. What I recently started having an issue with is some of the implications that come with being an Atheist. I didn't start having an existential crisis until a few months ago when I watched a man die.

I work as a Corrections Officer in a major U.S city. A while back I was assigned to go on a last minute ER run right before my shift ended. I arrived at our medical wing to see our nursing staff performing CPR on one of our inmates who had been detoxing from alcohol. Apparently he had some kind of delusional fit and began throwing himself around his cell and banging his head on the walls and bunk. Other staff had cell extracted him and placed him in a restraint chair to prevent further self harm and he just quit breathing as they were doing this.