Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 29, 2024, 10:44 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why that God or gods?
Why that God or gods?
To the theists here, why do you believe in your particular God or gods? Please elaborate.
(Atheists wanting to play Devil's advocate are certainly welcomeSmile I'm not experienced at that myself yet.)
RE: Why that God or gods?
From an atheist point of view, I'd have to say that the for the vast majority it has only to do with where you were born and how you were raised. Although, now that i think about it, I'd like to know the statistics for conversions to other religions?
Although I was exposed to Christianity from a young age, I questioned it all in my teens. I looked at other religions and was drawn back to Christianity as it has the 'ring of truth' about it compared to other religions. Maybe I was predisposed to see it as truth because of my earlier exposure. Who knows! I still think it appeals more than other religions, or rather Jesus' teachings have much appeal to me.
"The eternal mystery of the world is its comprehensibility"

Albert Einstein
(December 15, 2008 at 10:33 am)CoxRox Wrote: Although I was exposed to Christianity from a young age, I questioned it all in my teens. I looked at other religions and was drawn back to Christianity as it has the 'ring of truth' about it compared to other religions. Maybe I was predisposed to see it as truth because of my earlier exposure. Who knows! I still think it appeals more than other religions, or rather Jesus' teachings have much appeal to me.

Jesus said a few nice things. Even some of us atheists live by some of the things Jesus said. Yet we don't subscribe to the entire religion behind it. No, no, no Tongue