Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 8:57 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Humans evolved from monkeys
Humans evolved from monkeys
I'm still learning about the evolution stuff, but there's some dude on twitter hammering me over the statement that humans did not evolve from monkeys. 

His argument is that humans DID evolve from monkeys and he cites this as his source: 

http://anthro.palomar.edu/earlyprimates/early_2.htm

So, is this guy actually right? 

I know extant monkeys share a common ancestor with humans, but what about extinct monkeys? 

Thanks.
RE: Humans evolved from monkeys
http://phys.org/news/2012-08-genetic-hum...erged.html

Quote:The end result of the team’s research indicates that humans and chimps likely diverged some seven to eight million years ago, while the divergence of gorillas (which led to both humans and chimps) came approximately eight to nineteen million years ago. To put the numbers in perspective, humans and Neanderthals split just a half to three quarters of a million years ago.

[url=http://phys.org/news/2012-08-genetic-humans-great-apes-diverged.html#jCp][/url]
I think defining your terms might be helpful.

The term "monkey" is not synonymous with the word "ape."

Chimpanzees, Gorillas, Gibbons, and Bonobos are not monkeys. They are apes. So are humans.

All monkeys and apes are primates, however. Somewhere along the line, we all share a primate ancestor.

So your twitter friend is indeed incorrect. We evolved from an early primate ancestor, not a monkey. The monkeys are like cousins to our close Hominoidae Family.