Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 29, 2024, 4:40 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Its About Time!
Its About Time!
Hello

Just joined and its about time ! I have never ever believed in a religious deity of any description. Even though my family background include those that nominally seemed to believe (Jews Christians (of various denominations) none of whom seemed really sold on the idea. My father being very openly anti religion of any sort.

I was just lucky.

Seems to me religious upbringing is a form of child abuse in that it changes lives without any real evidence to do so.

I was a marine engineer (RN) and spent 25 years sailing round the world noticing the differences. Seems to me the more religion the more trouble.

I have been a psychologist and educator for the last 20 years and am now semi retired.

As a psychologist I am convinced about evolution and sold on science.

I am married (my wife was a Buddhist but doesn't believe in it as a religion anymore). We have a 5 year old daughter.
I consider Buddhist philosophy to be very sensible (of course real buddhists are atheists too.)Wink Shades

Hope I can make some useful contribution.

RE: Its About Time!
Welcome and feel free to jump into a discussion.
"There ought to be a term that would designate those who actually follow the teachings of Jesus, since the word 'Christian' has been largely divorced from those teachings, and so polluted by fundamentalists that it has come to connote their polar opposite: intolerance, vindictive hatred, and bigotry." -- Philip Stater, Huffington Post

always working on cleaning my windows- me regarding Johari
Hello and welcome!