Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 29, 2024, 3:09 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Thread of Fantastic Failures
The Thread of Fantastic Failures
My aim in creating this thread, is to embrace the lessons learned from our fantastic failures, while letting the negative aspects of them go.  It is my hope that others can learn from them and improve.

With that out of the way, think of an instance where you failed.  If you’re willing, then please share this experience.  What did you learn from it and how have you grown as an individual?

My Fantastic Failure:  Trying to be Mr. Fix it with an Irate Customer

About six months ago, a lady came into our store (I work in retail) and was immediately upset. She informed me that I misunderstood her husband (I waited on him the day before; he was alone) and sold him the wrong shirts (this was true; I messed up).  In addition, he decided to open up a store credit which infuriated her: she felt that I must have behaved underhandedly.  As a result, I tried to remedy the situation (she even remarked that I was nice), but the more I persisted in explaining things away, the angrier she became and the deeper I sank into a mental quicksand.  When she finally left (still upset after talking with the manager), she elaborated on what had been bothering her: she had given her husband specific instructions to use her card, and she was operating under the assumption that I knowingly disregarded her wishes and coaxed him into opening a credit. Indeed, this was a valid conclusion that any decent, rational person could make, but it was not in strict accordance with fact (her husband never shared this information with me; she assumed that he had). 

Reflection and Lessons Learned